Christie Wylie's Blog

Resource Sharing #1: Interactive Whiteboards | January 24, 2010

The Interactive Whiteboard Blog

Visit the above site to view a wide variety of interactive whiteboard resources for teachers.  Related posts from the site include:  Math frames, 20 interactive whiteboard sites for teachers, 13 sites for teaching ELL using whiteboards

Since I have been lucky to receive a brand new SMARTBoard in my classroom, I have spent countless hours trying to learn how to use this new technology in authentic ways…not just as a “glorified whiteboard”.  I am one of the first teachers at our school to have an interactive whiteboard, and am attempting to mentor other teachers wanting to learn.  Hopefully,  my enthusiasm will also inspire those teachers who currently don’t even want to touch the scary looking board.  Perhaps as I become more proficient with this amazing tool, I can share many ideas with other teachers.  The site listed above is great resource for using interactive whiteboards.  I spent hours looking at all of the lessons and links and didn’t even begin to skim the wealth of resources!

Ultimately, I want to use the interactive whiteboard to improve student learning.  Already, I can tell that students are much more engaged while using the SMARTBoard.  In their lives, they are already comfortable with technology.  Most of them share the fact that they would rather play video games, play Wii or PS whatever, listen to their iPods, watch movies on their hand-held DVD players or use the computer, rather than play outside or read a book.  This continues to affect classroom management.  I feel like sometimes I have to “be on stage” to get their attention.  There has also been a recent increase of ELL students and visual learners.  When all of these factors come into play, using an interactive whiteboard will help grab their attention…at least for a while, like a new toy they have just received as a gift.  Before they want to just put it on a shelf, I want to be sure I am using this new tool effectively to engage all students.


Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment

About author

The author does not say much about himself

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds